Keep them fingers down!

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by SirFunk, Oct 15, 2005.

1. SirFunk

May 24, 2001
    Lincoln, NE

I've begun to realize that one of my biggest problems as i progress is that I don't keep my fingers down behind the one I am playing. For example, if I'm playing an F on the D string and want to go to Eb, My index finger will be up, and then it will go down for the Eb. I think my mental process is "put down your index finger" not "pick up your pinky". I've been doing this for 10 years.

This hasn't become too much of a problem until recently, now that i've been playing some more complicated and fast pieces (Dragonetti) It is becoming a REAL issue in thumb position. I know if i just sit for hours a day conciously thinking about it, playing things slow, I might be able to break the habbit.

My question is: does anyone have any good hints/tips/exercises to do this faster?

2. Pcocobass

Jun 16, 2005
    New York
    It might help to practice in a mirror. This way you can watch your fingers and make sure they stay in line...
  3. Savino

Jun 2, 2004
    I think the fingers of the left hand should individually press the notes down. Using more than one finger to stop the note slows the process and decreases your dexterity.
  4. LM Bass

LM Bass

Jul 19, 2002
    Vancouver, BC
    You'll get a few differing views on this one. . .

My vote goes to keeping your fingers down.
    The way I think of it, when you set your fourth finger, you always have 3 notes down. You just lift your 4th to get the E natural, then lift your second to get the Eb. The other way, you have to lift your 4th, and then place whatever other finger you use down again. Less efficient by half.
    Also, you have set the 3 notes in tune when you place your 4th, no need to shift around for the E and Eb to get them in tune.

I should note that I also use 4 fingers in that neck area, which might still be considered contriversial by some. ..