1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Keeping a slap tone's fundamental over distance...

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Devo-lution, Apr 26, 2010.

1. Devo-lution

Devo-lution

Jun 24, 2009
    Okay, so I am not absolutely sure whether this is the correct place for this topic, since it involves the bass as well as the amp as well as the strings...

I have been practicing a lot of slap for the last two years, but there's one thing that's bugging me... The slap tone always sounded good when I wasstanding directly in front of my amplifier... but lately I have been using longer cables and I started noticing that at a distance of more than 2 meters (or when standing next to or behind my amp), the tone sounds incredibly weak and dry when slapping...

It's like the slap tone does not survive the distance and falls apart...

Are there any hints on what to do, to make it sound better over distance and how will this present itself live (as I am yet to use the slapping technique live)... Be it advice concerning technique, gear, whatever... as long as it fits the bill..

my gear:

MM Stingray II EQ w GHS Boomers
    Markbass LMII + 4*10 markbass cab

2. vision

vision It's all about the groove! Supporting Member

Feb 25, 2005
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Endorsing Artist: MTD Basses, La Bella Strings, and 64 Audio IEMs
    Based on this, I can tell you that it definitely isn't the gear - that bass into that rig should be slap heaven. :bassist: