Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Kenny Drew Trio Video

Discussion in 'Recordings [DB]' started by GrooveWarrior, Sep 23, 2005.

1. So, I'm sitting here watching BET Jazz and a performance from the Kenny Drew Trio with NHOP and Alvin Queen on drums came on. Dear Lord!!! I'm an electric bassist who wishes he was a straight ahead jazz bassist and I had never seen NHOP play. Unreal tone!!!! He makes it look so simple.

My question is: Does anyone know the show I am talking about (I can't be the only one who saw this on BET Jazz), and does this show exist in CD format? I must have it!!!

Help!

2. Freddels

Freddels Musical Anarchist

Apr 7, 2005
    Sutton, MA
    Yes. I saw the show. NHOP was very good. The show is available on DVD. Do a search on Amazon.

3. it's called Live at the Brewhouse, i've got the DVD, some good stuff on there, I personally can't stand NHOP's tone on it, makes me cringe alot, but otherwise some big chops

4. I'm not very well versed in upright tone, but I noticed it was very out front and growly, and I hadn't noticed an upright sounding like that before.

5. it's essentially the "electric tone" that bothers many doublebassists, most of us feel it's an acoustic bass, so why would you make it sound electric ? ya dig, overall the 1970's was a bad year for doublebass tone....i've got some stuff with NHOP straight up acoustic and it's sooooooooooo much meatier and tastier....oh and that live at the brewhouse is available on CD too

6. Well, since I am an electric guy, I guess that would explain why I liked it. I will have to look for this on CD. He was incredible!

While I have your attention, do you know if there are any videos of Scott LaFaro playing?