Kern IP-777 Tube Question...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Jeff Rader, Dec 22, 2001.

1. Does anyone have tube replacement recommendations for the Kern? I'm thinking about trying some NOS tubes, but wanted to get other's opinions before proceeding.

2. Hey Jeff, I'm no expert, but I've been researching preamp tubes for my old SWR. I've found that before you can decide on replacements, you need to answer a few questions.

What kind of tubes does it have in it? (All 12ax7s? Brand if possible?)
    Do you like the tone you are getting?
    What would you like to change about the tone?

Until the real experts answer, you might want to do a search for 12ax7 and 5751 in the amp forum.

Good luck!
  3. Mario Lewis

Mario Lewis

Jul 6, 2001
    Clinton, MD