1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Kevin Rutmanis' (Melvins, Tomahawk) custom Eric Chaz longhorn bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Sjobi 1, Dec 6, 2018.

1. Sjobi 1

Sjobi 1

Nov 23, 2009
    I initially put this in another thread, but thought it deserved it's own, so here it is.

Last January I acquired Kevin Rutmanis' orange Eric Chaz custom built long horn bass. Kevin is the reason I started playing bass. (I'm a painter, and started playing to have another creative outlet)

The Melvins are probably my favorite band, and Kevin's time in the band is my favorite era. I'm also a huge Cows fan, and I really dig his newer band Hepa/Titus. Anyway, he made a post on Instagram saying that he was selling this one, send a message for details. I could not believe it. For me this is the most insane Melvins artifact ever, I wouldn't even trade it for one of Buzz's Les Pauls. Fortunately I must have been the first person to message him and his asking price was reasonable, given the instrument, the owner, provenance and meaning of it all to me. I had thought of messaging him about 6 months earlier to see if he wanted to sell either of his longhorns, as I'd only seen photos and videos of him playing a Bass VI the past couple years. I didn't message him because I thought that would be presumptuous/rude. After I bought this from him, I told him that I'd thought about asking him previously, to which he replied something like "haha, don't ask, don't get." And I replied, "Okay then, is the green 'Shove It' bass for sale?" I think that amused him but said he's keeping it.