Keyboard effect from bass- total noob

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Maximumjackson, Dec 20, 2017.

1. Maximumjackson

Maximumjackson

Apr 1, 2017
    Hi all,
    Warning. This is probably some pretty low hanging fruit. I don't use effects other than my sansamp.
    I have a part in a song that needs a fairly short piano/keyboard break, but guess what? I look around the practice pad...no piano player to be found. Damnit!
    I'm looking for the most low cost/easy /quality way for me to be able to produce this sound from my bass.
    I have no experience with MIDI, but if there's a simple setup...I'm game for any suggestions. Something I can setup easily on stage and be able to not create a headache for the sound guy.
    I've also looked at the EH Key9 pedal-but I'm wondering how well it works and if it just sounds too super-70's.
    Suggestions?
    Thanks!

2. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Supporting Member

that's exactly what i was going to recommend to you (i've never used it --- can't speak to its efficacy).

i think the midi route is pricey...especially for just one small piano part.

3. The EHX 9 series may present a solution, I have a Mel9 that I have been working with and get satisfying results. Tracking can be a bit of a challenge so perhaps a bit of compression might help if you do not have the most consistent touch.

4. JACink

JACink

Mar 9, 2011
    Spain
    How about a small keyboard and play that part on the keyboard? If you can reproduce the piece on your bass (except for the actual sound of course) then you should be able to play it with one hand on a keyboard while holding/muting your neck with the other. I like to use a small 25 key set up (mainly just to record loops).

(I wonder if this will get them complaining over on talkkeys about damn bassists playing keys with their right hand ;) )

5. BassBrass

BassBrass

Jul 6, 2009
    Boston MA