Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Davidoc, Jul 8, 2002.

1. Does it really matter what key a song is in? What methods do you use to decide what key to use?

How about key changes? Is there any theory to choose what key to modulate to? What about techniques to cause suspense and resolution when approaching a key change?

2. well yes and no for me

being self taught but many years of concert/jazz/marching band, i do have knowledge of keys, scales, ect.

BUT when i write music i am usually not concerned with the key at that time. i play by feel. if a note sounds good it stays, if not i change it. that simple. usually after it is written i will figure out the key for additional riffs, solos, ect.

i do try to not write eveything in the same key. thats one reason a bands songs might all sound the same. so i might write a riff, realize we already have 2 or 3 oter songs in that key, and maybe move it a step or two.

as for modulation, ill leave that to the others.
  3. BFunk

BFunk Supporting Member

The key will matter a lot to the singer, and sometimes the guitar player, horns, etc. Keys like Ab and Eb are tougher for guitar because they cannot use as many open voicings. Trumpet players love Bb, as do many keyboard players.

Singers, so I have been told perfer flat keys because they are easier to sing. (I don't understand this myself, but hey, I'm not a singer.) Apparently many showtunes are written in flat keys for this reason.

Many tunes written around guitar are in the key of G, D, C, and A. Tunes written on keys tend to be in Bb, Ab, Db, Eb, and F. So when you here an old R&B tune with lots of keys and horns, bring out your flat keys.