1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Killswitch on J bass

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by SamPingas, Aug 16, 2012.

1. SamPingas

SamPingas

Aug 16, 2012
    Hello, first off I would like to say that I hope this is my first post of many here! I'll hold back on writing a novel since I'm sure there is an introduction subforum somewhere around here!

I have done some research into killswitches and have ultimately determined that I want to install one on my Squier J bass. During my research I learned that this passive bass has both a neck pickup volume knob and a bridge pickup volume knob, so it would be wired the same way as lets say... A Les Paul, right? I am not an expert when it comes to electronics so I am stumped on the wiring part itself, if somebody could go into Microsoft Paint and modify this diagram to show where a killswitch would be placed, that would be great! (Sorry for another "OMG KILLSITCSH" thread, I hear they are all the rage these days.)

std_jazz_bass.

Thanks!

2. Put a switch across the output jack. Common to one terminal, normally-open to the other.

3. The two wires that are between the "master tone" and the "output jack", put the killswitch on one of those wires. I'd choose the left one which is the ground.

4. SamPingas

SamPingas

Aug 16, 2012
    @line6man: I'm not going to lie, I have no clue what that means! :meh:

@darius8: On my setup there is only one wire connected to the output jack, so does that mean I should just use one wire with an SPDT switch and connect them to that wire like you said?

Another issue I ran into was the fact that this doesn't proplerly represent my wiring, I drew a quick diagram of my wiring in MS Paint.

jbasswiring1.