Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

King Bass:my first DB for jazz or something else?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by furiously funky, Dec 1, 2004.

1. furiously funky

furiously funky Guest

Dec 28, 2002
    Toronto
    im a jazz student and ive been using the schools double basses so far this year when not playing electric, and im planning on getting my own this summer. would a slap king be a smart move? I would really like a new standard but they would be out of my reach i think. any other ideas if the king wouldnt be a good choice?
    are the pickups in the king reasonable as well or would it be worth it to get differnt ones for jazz? can you bow the kings?
    thanks
    -marty

2. olivier

olivier

Dec 17, 1999
    Paris, France
    Instead of brand name or luster (not to mention flames) of instruments, you should concentrate on SOUND

3. furiously funky

furiously funky Guest

Dec 28, 2002
    Toronto
    thanks
    is this the general opinion around here? if so point me in the right direction
    -marty

4. Mudfuzz

Mudfuzz

Apr 3, 2004
    WA...
    Have you read through the Newbie Links? There is a lot of good info in there.

5. Matt Ides

Matt Ides

May 12, 2004
    Minneapolis, MN
    Play as many basses as you can. If you have a teacher (even for electric) they can help in many ways, let then know you are looking to get a UB.

Stay away from tha major chains and/or ordering something that you can't play.

My first bass was an Engelhardt, and they seem to be good entry instruments.

I have never played a King bass, but my understanding is that they are made more for the rockabilly crowd, and are made to withstand the slapping and other antics.

I would look for a laminate (ply) bass. You should be able to afford one. Remember also to have a little extra left over for set-up, unless you get your bass from a luther.

Good Luck.