Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

King Basses???

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Th9nker, Mar 18, 2002.

1. Th9nker

Th9nker

Mar 18, 2002
    I'm thinking about adding another bass to my collection to use primarily for amplified performance of rock, rock-a-billy, and bluegrass styles. My main bass and it's fishman pick-up just isn't cutting it. Besides, I want to keep it set-up for playing with chamber groups and the symphony.

So, what are your opinions on King basses? Do any of you have one? Played one?

Thanks

I was refering to these by the way....

http://www.kingdoublebass.com/intro.html

2. sean p

sean p

Mar 7, 2002
    eugene, oregon
    man, i have no experience with king basses, so i can't say how they sound or hold up, but it seems like 2700-3000 is a lot to pay for a ply that seems like it's striving so hard for style points. it's my bet that you could spend much less on something a little older that has some soul and some track record (or just a cheaper new ply bass by another maker) and save yourself some dough by paiting the flames on yourself. (not ON yourself, though that might serve a similar purpose... well, you get the idea), plus that way there's some serious OwNership in your relationship to your instrument.

the steel reinforced neck seems like a good idea, but there must be an inconvenient increase in weight (hauling it all over will make this count).

sean p

3. I saw this guy's original web page, and it contained some comments that suggested he doesn't know half as much about making basses as he pretends to.
    I wouldn't go anywhere near this bass.

4. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    Does anyone know if this company has any relationship at all to the old Kings that were built, IIRC, in Cleveland?