Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

King (HN White) #2734 project bass- pictures 1

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by minguslives, Jun 18, 2005.

1. Hello all,
    I've been playing upright for the past 5 months. Initially I had a rental Eastman bass from the local music store, which IMO was quite flat sounding. I gave it back a month ago since I didn't have the time to take lessons any more. I bought this project bass from a seller in Indiana in March 05. I was revitalized by the ISB convention recently (I live in Kalamazoo), and decided that I would have my bass restored, probably from Guarneri House in Grand Rapids. Here are pictures- there are chipped edges, and I know it's probably an extensive project, but she looks beautiful to me even now- so can't wait to see how she'll look all dressed up and purty. I'm debating between a reddish brown oil based stain and a natural finish, like the recent La Scala pictures. Any opinions would be welcome. There are many pics, so there will be many posts

Attached Files:

2. More pics- BTW, I wonder if the La Scala is based on this King design- Any guesses?

Attached Files:

3. more

Attached Files:

4. To clarify, the wood does have a slight orange/pink tinge. But my camera is adding some extra orange to it!! :eyebrow:

Attached Files:

5. It is hard to see details in these photos, but my impression is that the original finish is not so bad and perhaps it just needs touch up and clean up. It's a little hard to tell. It should retain some of its' hard earned patina. It is a nice looking bass. I love the name on the back. Do you know what year it is?

Also, I think you can attach more than 2 photos per post.

6. I don't know about that, but I'm pretty sure you can have more than one post per thread. :eyebrow:

7. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000