1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

King Moretone info request

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by DavidRavenMoon, Apr 7, 2006.

1. DavidRavenMoon

DavidRavenMoon Banned

Oct 20, 2004
    Hello all, about 15 years ago I bought a used old URB in a music store for about $350. They had a sign on it saying it was a Kay, but the label inside says it's a King Moretone. It's in good condition, but needs a little work. It needs a new bridge... when I got it the bridge was way too high, and someone cut inch deep groves for the strings to make them lower! I reshaped it, but I'm not an expert on uprights... I build electric basses. Also the seams on the top have unglued on the bottom end of the bass. I understand this is normal to prevent cracks from forming? And I haven't changed the strings. It's been sitting in a corner of my living room looking pretty. ;)

I'm an mainly an electric player, but have been wanting to get this bass fixed up so I can use it.

I'd like to know more about this bass, and I figure this is the place to ask! Is this the same King bass company that makes the new basses? It seems like a nicely made bass, and even with the ill fitted bridge, old strings, and open seams, it has a real nice tone.

Is there any way to find out how old these are? What's everyone's opinion on them?

I'll post some pictures this weekend.

I know... so many questions!

Thanks in advance,

David :)

2. STRONGBOW

STRONGBOW

Aug 26, 2005
    Kip Martin recently established a welcome website on vintage American Standard basses and their close cousin, the King Moretones. (GOOGLE: "American Standard Basses") The HN WHITE CO of Cleveland also maintains a historical website containing info on these instruments.