Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by bassopotumus, Mar 17, 2004.

1. bassopotumus

Mar 17, 2004
    Does anyone here know if King Double Basses are good for Jazz music? Will they suit this style well? Thanks to all who respond!

2. Mike Goodbar

Mike Goodbar Supporting Member

Jun 6, 2001
    Charlotte, NC
    That all depends on who's playing it!

Seriously, there is not good or bad bass for jazz; you'll find that the top players are using instruments all across the spectrum, from old Italian specimens all the way to plywoods like Kays.

If you're talking about the new King basses that are being made, from my understanding, they are well-suited for amplification, which might be a plus, as most jazz players use amplification of some kind (holy sh*t, that was one helluva run-on sentence).
  3. bassopotumus

Mar 17, 2004
    haha, yeah I can see what you're saying. Thanks.
  4. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    Actually, Mike, as an editor, I have found much longer run-on sentences, and I think you'll often find that people will string together a series of thoughts in a single sentence without really playing attention to what they are doing; although if they would simply take the time to read back what they have written, as you have, it is usually obvious that they have extended the sentence well beyond what is deemed appropriate in contemporary writing styles, but unfortunately, most do not, which may actually be a good thing, as I would otherwise not have a job. :)

Anyway, you talkin' Old Kings or New Kings? Old Kings are likened to the American Standards and would be fairly common in Jazz. I haven't played a new King, but I think they are finding their niche in rockabilly.