1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

KISS: OK, I admit it

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Flatwound, Jul 26, 2012.

1. Flatwound

Flatwound Supporting Member

Sep 9, 2000
    San Diego
    The first Kiss album I bought was Alive. That was in maybe '75-76, right around the time I graduated from high school. Then I got Dressed to Kill. I'm still impressed by these albums and the musicianship of these guys. I was also listening to Led Zeppelin, Edgar Winter, and Jimi Hendrix in those days, but the tightness of the Kiss albums was really impressive, along with the fact that they could pull off those vocal harmonies live.

Paul Stanley is an amazing vocalist. I sing lead and backup myself, but there's no way I could make it through the night screaming and hollering at the audience the way he does. In fact, the pitch control that he and Gene Simmons exhibit still amazes me. Live albums are often filled with flat notes, but not too much from these guys.

I admit that some of Gene's bass lines are somewhat uninspired and/or cheezy, but some of them are great, IMO. "Love Her All I Can" is a standout for me. "Cold Gin," particularly the Alive version is pretty awesome as well.

Gene's bass is also mixed up front in most of the stuff, so you can actually hear what he's doing. I've heard that Ace played the bass on some of the albums, and while I don't know if that's true or not, Gene still had to pull it off live. I learned a lot from the bass lines on those early albums.

2. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

Some comments on your post:

- I guess you've seen/heard this? It's one of my all-time favorite performances from Gene. :cool: