1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

KK Baby Basses; Hot Rodding The Pickups

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by Bruce Johnson, Nov 10, 2014.

1. Bruce Johnson

Bruce Johnson Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 4, 2011
    Fillmore, CA
    Professional Luthier
    I'm a Luthier in the Los Angeles area. Some of you know me from my specialty, which is the Ampeg-style horizontal Scroll Basses. I also do some limited work on Ampeg, Zorko, and Azola Baby Basses, mostly neck repairs. I only work on the originals, not the inexpensive copies.

Recently, I've expanded my expertise to include the KK Baby Basses. These are the instruments built by Kris Kedzior in the UK, available here in the US directly from KK (http://baby-bass.com/). I've been in contact with Kris, and have been helping with some small repairs on his instruments that customers have here in the California area. I'm not a dealer or a paid rep or anything like that. I like his basses. They are very well made, and a bargain for the price. In particular, they are built strong. This is a Baby Bass that you can really take out on the road. I highly recommend them.

However, one weakness that the KK Baby Basses have is in the pickup system. All of them (about 6?) that I've had here in my shop have been weak and thin sounding. The overall output level was low, and they didn't have the same booming bottom end that you'd expect from an Ampeg or an Azola.