Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Korg or Roland?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Ichi9, Mar 1, 2001.

1. Ichi9

Ichi9

Jun 7, 2000
    Hello,

I am looking to purchase a hard disk recorder, and I am currently looking at the Korg D1600 or the Roland VS-890. Any opinions or suggestions on other options would be very helpful. Thanks.

2. I have no experience with the Korg stuff, but I can tell you that the Roland stuff is very nice. I've used the 1680 and now, the 1880. We like it so much we just might move up to a 2480.

There are a lot of Roland users out there who can give you advice. Check out the VS Planet website. You'll probably find comparisons to the Korg machines there.
    http://www.vsplanet.com

Brian

3. dhosek

dhosek

May 25, 2000
    Los Angeles, CA
    Something else to check out (if you can get your hands on it) is the new Alesis HD24. Street price of $2000, 24 tracks, 24 bit with a 96Khz upgrade "coming". It stores on IDE HDs in removable bays so adding storage is MUCH cheaper than on SCSI-based systems. And it has built in ethernet so that you can just hook up a cheap LAN between it and your PC or Mac to transfer tracks to the computer for editing/mixdown.

Drawbacks? The technology is new and unproven outside Alesis' labs (although the Alesis techs who've spoken out on it have expressed an astonishing level of confidence in their work); because it's so cool AND cheap, I would guess that finding one in stock might be a challenge.

4. the guitar player i record with bought a korg d1600, i think it was about $1100.

he bought it a month ago, won't stop talking about how great it is, and to me the thing records very well. has a nice size screen which some of the others lack.

whoops have to edit this, the guitar player has a korg D16 not a D1600. sorry

it is still a real nice recorder. :)

5. Joe Nerve