Kustom 1200 bass amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by AlstottMVP2, Mar 8, 2009.

1. AlstottMVP2

AlstottMVP2

May 9, 2007
    What's the tone like on those? Are they solid performers for live shows? I'm negotiating with someone locally to sell me a used one. What kinda price should I expect?

2. theory028

theory028 Really Loud Hamburger.

Jul 4, 2007
    Cedar Falls, IA
    I've got this head and it is fantastic when used with an Avatar B212, Sonic B610T, or Peavey TVX115. It's even better when used with all four cabs to get closer to 2 ohms.

As far as the tone goes, it is pretty flexible. I'm not good at describing how it sounds. There is plenty of power to drive the low end and low mids that I like to add in, as well as the highs. The head sounds great with the all of the cabs I have tried. It may just take a bit of EQing for the room and to get a sound that you like. I've used it with a Behringer BA410 (which is notorious for not being a great sounding cab; the BB410, on the other hand, seems to be more accepted [but it's still Behringer...]) and it worked well. I was paring it with the Avatar B212, which didn't hurt the sound in the least. ;)

I have used it for every show I've done and nearly all practices (all but two, from what I can remember) and it has been very reliable. I've never even had to worry about it.

As far as pricing, it would depend on the condition. I paid $380 for mine to be shipped to me. The head is heavy so shipping was about $30. It also came with the footswitch and a 3U rack bag. I would expect to pay about $350 for the Kustom Groove 1200. Mine was in fantastic condition, though. I'd do it all over again. I absolutely love how much power the head provides, and it sounds great.