1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Kustom 1200 vs Carvin B1500

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by JahNissi, Nov 28, 2006.

1. JahNissi

JahNissi

May 24, 2006
    Illinois
    I was looking at these 2 amps because of the power output and because they both run at 2 ohms. I'm running a Avatar 212 and 410 both at 4 ohms each. Between the 2 the power rating doesn't matter to much to me so thats not an issue. The price is not that different either.

I was mainly wondering about tone. I've heard pretty good things about both of them. I've had little experience with either. I played a Carvin 6 string and 4 string that I really really liked, but a 5 string that I didn't. Nothing in the amplification section though. I have never played anything by kustom which worries me a little. Thanks guys.

2. Did you search? There are numerous posts on both these amps here.

I have the B1500, and it's killer. I've spent very little time with the 1200, but many folks here like them a lot.

3. svtb15

svtb15 Banned

Mar 22, 2004
    Austin,TX - McKinney,TX - NY,NY, - Nashville,TN
    I play it all. Whatever works for the gig. Q+
    B1500.. its an animal

4. Tony G

Tony G

Jan 20, 2006
    NY
    Another vote here for the carvin b1500. The Kustom head is garbage.

5. JahNissi

JahNissi

May 24, 2006
    Illinois
    I did search, thanks though. I was reading SMASH's thread about it and it sounded good, the only thing I am afraid of is that I don't play any metal. I play more like phish/OAR/Dave stuff. Not very metaly. Will it work for this do you guys think?

6. Quadzilla

Quadzilla Supporting Member

I've owned the Kustom and played the Carvin. No contest, Carvin for sure...

7. kobass

kobass Supporting Member

Nov 3, 2003
    Outside Boston