Kustom deep end 50watt into ampeg 810

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Arenegadeoffunk, Jan 23, 2021.

1. Arenegadeoffunk

Arenegadeoffunk

Dec 17, 2020
    Hey guys, I'm a guitarist who really enjoys bass equipment and also discussing equip. and reading all you guys have to say basically... anyway I have a Kustom deep end 50watt (de50) I ripped out of a combo and it's a bonafide tone machine(I imagine it sounds alot like an ampeg svt since the same guy designed this line of kustom, probably to save their amps since, let's be honest they're not great) I recently got an ampeg 810 svt cab that is also quite special, really my first cab that adds to the tone real nice. Btw I play through an epiphone DC pro and i like my OCD ge alot. I'm interested in anything you guys have to say in general but here's my real question.. my de50 speaker out is 8ohms, my svt cab is 4ohms. I couldn't resist and I finally rolled the dice and it sounds great, but the amp got warm pretty quick and I dont want to damage it, it's only got a tube preamp, the rest is solid state so I'm sure it's tough as nails, and you all know there's conflicting opinions on ohm matching, especially when solid states involved.. what should I do??

2. MarkA

MarkA In the doghouse. Supporting Member

Sep 26, 2008
    Have a look at page 6 of this manual: Kustom DE50 Owner's Manual (Page 6 of 12) | ManualsLib

Minimum load for this amp is 8 Ohms (when in the combo, per the manual, the internal speaker is disconnected when you hook up an external cab -- I realize that yours is pulled).

Running the amp at 4 Ohms is running it out of spec. You might get away with it for a little while or a long while, but "got warm pretty quick" is not a good sign. I would stop using it at 4 Ohms. If your 810 is set up as two, 8 Ohm 410s (some are) you could run one of them.