Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Kustom Groove 1200 + which cabs to get?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by henryjurstin13, Aug 12, 2005.

1. I am new to the bassworld... and this is my first 'real' rig. I have already decided on the Kustom Groove bass 1200 head, because I got such a sweet deal on it. I was plannin' on getting the Avatar 2x12 Neo now & the 2x10 Neo later.... but which ohm version should I get?

Dave at Avatar said to get both cabs in 4 ohms for the most power consumption... but, would I be better off with 8 ohm cabs for any reason? I am very new to the ohm/cab decision making process.

OR -- if you think I would be better off with another cab, tell me what to do & where to go. I play 'jam' oriented rock & roll... lil bit funky at times.

thanks! henry

2. Tash

Tash

Feb 13, 2005
    Bel Air Maryland
    You'd be better with 8 ohms if you think you'll be using the cabs with heads other than your groovebass. Most heads can't go down to 2 ohms, the Kustom can.

If you are only planning on sticking with the Kustom you'll be best with 2 4ohm cabs for a total load of 2 ohms.

3. xb100

xb100

Mar 24, 2004
    NH, In
    Ya go with 2 8ohm cabs, the groove bass will put out 750 watts into 4 ohms, and if you need to, you can add another 4 ohm cab to get the full 1200 watts out of it, but that would probably be if you were playing huge gigs.

and good choice with the avatar's!

-Rob

4. i would go with 8ohm cabs as well... just in case you don't end up using the kustom forever.

but even at a total of 4ohms (2 x 8ohms) the groovebass has a ton of power.

5. Quadzilla

Quadzilla Supporting Member

Agreed! It's soooo fricken loud even at 4 ohms total!

[​IMG]

6. Thanks for the support, looks like Avatar cabs are the best way for me to go. Should I go with the Neo? What about the 2x12 Delta LF cabs? Or the 2x10 Delta, and the Kappa Pros?