1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Kustom Love

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Din Of Win, Mar 26, 2009.

1. I have been using and loving my old Kustom200 for quite a few years now and rarely, if ever, run into other bassists using them on the road.

Granted, i play a genre of music that is tremendously entrenched in trendieness... which translates to expensiveness. Lots of vintage Ampegs, Sunns, Mesas and Matamps.. but not too many kushy kustoms.

That being said, i have regularly gotten compliments on the sound that it produces and i could not have been happier. For a long time i didn't even use any pedals besides a tuner and an overdrive that acted more like a volume boost.

The icing on the amp-cake is how much i paid for it. $120 back in 03 or 04 (i can't remember). I don't even care that i havent replaced the cord and continue to electrocute myself on a regular bass-is(lol pun). I also have a sunn concert bass and my Kustom blows it out of the water.

Does anyone else play Kustoms?

There's no point to this really, i just love how great it still sounds and how it stands out these days with the plethora of what else is being played out of.

Oh... and i have TOTALLY used it as a pillow on more than one occation!

2. pedro

pedro

Apr 5, 2000
    Madison, WI.
    I've got an old Kustom 1x15 Combo I picked up a couple of years ago for $90. I've used it for a few rehearsals but never played out with it.

3. johnk_10

johnk_10 vintage bass nut Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 16, 2008
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    John K Custom Basses