1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Kvetching about my band

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by rojo412, Nov 21, 2010.

1. rojo412

rojo412 Sit down, Danny... Supporting Member

Feb 26, 2000
    Cleveland, OH.
    I've been playing with a guy for about 10 years now. He's the guitar player, I'm bass (duh). We have always clicked pretty well and long ago, we were quite good friends. But as of late, things aren't really great.

The quick background is, we have played together since we jammed back when we worked at GC together. The drummers have come and gone, but our most recent (as of about 6 years ago?) has been solid and the three of us jive well.
    We have a lot of musical friends and from time to time, they become band mates. A few keyboardists, a couple sax players, percussion, whatever fits in. In essence, we try to function as a funk band, overall.

Couple years back, we pick up a guy on sax and he's a good dude. Younger than us, different sense of humor, but overall, a good guy. However, it became clear that the concept of "FUNK" eluded him. He was good for a melodic jam band kind of thing, but good old fashioned funk wasn't working for him...

Fast forward to the last gig we play (at a private party, held by my boss, month and a half ago), my friend the guitarist just starts laying into the sax guy after the show... and people at this party are not out of earshot. He is just berating his abilities and telling him to quit playing in a band and take lessons.
    I was shocked, and though I knew it was always a bit of an issue, there's a time and place for everything and this was inappropriate.

I had been seeing a bit of a change in the guitarists' personality over some time, but this moment really made me question my ability to work with him. I honestly started to dislike him after that.