L.A. TBers: How's life down there? (Advice for a northern boy)

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Blackbird, Jun 13, 2003.

1. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    Hi, folks.

There is a big possibbility I'll be moving to L.A. in 2004. I was wondering if anyone can give me an idea of what life is like there, as far as employment is concerned. How's the California crisis treating L.A.?

I have a college degree and speak quite a few languages. Housing will not be a problem but I intend to have a place of my own after a few months. Feel free to respond of PM me with any info or leads. Thanks.

2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    College degree AND you speak a couple languages....you're fine :p

Seriously, I can't say cause I'm not even 18 yet(two more days)

But I certainly love So. cal, and I can say that I enjoy it down here.
  3. Blackbird

Mar 18, 2000
    Well, my whole resume would be kind of lengthy...:p
  4. Why are you moving to LA..Why would anyone actually choose to live there..I could see living there only if it was for a great paying job, but it's not my bag of tea...LA IMO is nothing short of being a third world country.. good luck man.
  5. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
  6. Blackbird

Mar 18, 2000
    But the band is going!:bawl:

I don't wanna lose my gig!:bawl::bawl:
  7. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    It was an order.
  8. Well, LA isn't all that great if you move right into the heart of the ghetto or something. Try the places around LA, like Orange County, and drive into LA if that is where your gig is.

One big plus in Southern California as opposed to San Fran., is level ground. How the hell do you people live on those hills?
  9. CS

Dec 11, 1999
    Well Jazzbo told me I wouldn't like LA and I didn't. Stay.
  10. Blackbird

Mar 18, 2000
    Like I said, housing won't be a huge problem, I'm more concerned about employment.