1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

LA Talkbass readers - portaflex service tech?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by lexington125, Nov 1, 2013.

1. lexington125

lexington125

Sep 11, 2013
    hollywood, baby......
    someday I will find 4 or 5 other guys who want to play the blues the way it was played before it became all about guitar heroics
    Asked this question once before, about 6wks ago, without much response. I've had negative experiences with my SB12 in that techs have pretty much come right out and said "gee, I've never worked on one of these before....."

This is my baby, I've had her 30 years and it is my idea of the perfect amp. But it sat in storage for at least three years and I don't want to be responsible for toasting something when its turned on for the first time. In all of Los Angeles, there have to be a few TalkBass readers who have had great experiences when having their fliptop serviced locally - please point me to someone who has proven experience working on old ampeg portaflex amps. Thank you!

Los Angeles area Ampeg (portaflex) service?

I’ve had an early (1965?) Ampeg SB-12 since the early 80s. It was actually dead mint when I purchased it from a store in Cambridge for $180. The story was that it was a graduation present that the kid did not take with him when he left home and the parents finally unloaded it nearly 20 years later (1983 +/-)