LaBella flatwounds Hofner violin question

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by johntrem, Oct 27, 2011.

1. johntrem

johntrem

Sep 10, 2010
    Hello all, Let me start by letting you know that I am primarily a guitar player, but last fall bought a Hofner Icon violin bass. I did a lot of research and found that generally most Hofner players use flatwounds as that is the traditional string used with Hofners for best tone and playability. I am not a pro and play at home and with friends for my own pleasure so I was in no hurry to switch out to flats from the roundwounds that came with the Hofner. I played them for about a year. Just this evening I finally switched to the flatwounds- LaBella 760HB2 for Hofner Beatle Bass, .039-.096. Everything went fine and easy, installation wise. I tuned up open string but when I went to check the intonation, things were off. As I said, I did a lot of research when I got the bass so I am well aware of the intonation problems inherent with this bass. When I first got the bass I had to do a bit of movement with the floating bridge in order to get the intonation right. I also used a method suggest by a Hofner owner where the E and G strings are tuned open string and the A and D are tuned at the 7th fret. At first I positioned the bridge with the lower side (E-A) closer to the bridge pickup. Eventually, as the strings were more and more broken in, I moved it further back (parallel with the pickup) for better intonation. It seemed that the longer the strings were on, the better the intonation. What I want to know is, do flatwounds need a breaking in period in order to intonate better? I didn't make any changes to the bass- action, truss rod, etc. when I switched to the flats every thing seemed fine. The D and G strings are okay, but the A and E register flat when fretted up the neck with the chromatic tuner. When I tune the D string to E (on the eighth fret) the A registers sharp when played open. I tried moving the bridge but it reall