1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

LaBella stainless on the way- What to expect?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by vindibona1, Nov 27, 2018.

1. vindibona1

vindibona1

Apr 18, 2015
    I needed to get to the $35 mark at Strings and Beyond to get free shipping while they had their sale going on. I had a set of DR Pure Blues on my Jazz5 for several months that were ok. I was going to switch to D'Addario NYXL's (that I have on my other basses), but saw the LaBella stainless 5's were on sale for $19 less 15% so I bit.

I could have bought the nickel wrapped strings for the same price, but I've never tried stainless strings before and don't know what to expect. I'm asking because I am now debating whether to put them on my jazz bass or my Yamaha TRBX 605. The 605 came with standard D'Addario XL strings and the sound was so blah that I almost sent the bass back. The DR Pure Blues convinced me to keep it. NYXL's were an improvement still. So I'm waffling as to which bass to test the LaBella stainless on.

Any thoughts?

2. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    They're a lot like roto steels. Maybe not as bright out of the package but good quality well made strings.

eriky4003 and Root 5 like this.
  3. bassboysam

bassboysam Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2001
    Ottawa, Ontario
    i used them for years. lots of low end and they kind of roll off at the high mids and treble.

trothwell likes this.
  4. Based on my experience with the Yamaha TRBX505, La Bella SS rounds may be a good match to liven it up a bit. The stock humbuckers on the Yamaha tend to be on the dark side, so a good set of SS strings should work well.

5. vindibona1

vindibona1

Apr 18, 2015