Laddies and Lasses - show me your Irish/Celtic rock love

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Marley's Ghost, Mar 13, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Marley's Ghost

Marley's Ghost Supporting Member

Feb 9, 2002
    Tampa, FL
    The manager of the club we are playing Sat nite has asked use to DJ some celtic style drinking music during the breaks. Can anyone clover me?

2. Any and all Irish Rovers tunes you can download!

Marley's Ghost likes this.
  3. Molly Malone is one i like.
    :)

4. Wissen

Wissen Supporting Member

Nov 11, 2007
    Central PA
    I am a bassist first and long time TBer, but a mandolin and some Celtic music dug deep under my skin a few years ago, so I now play mando and banjo in a Celtic Punk band. Here is what we are listening to:

Celtic Rock/Punk:
    • Young Dubliners - especially the album With All Due Respect. Brilliant takes on a bunch of Irish standards
    • Flogging Molly - of course
    • Dropkick Murphys - I don't actually love them, but they are obligatory on any list like this
    • The Tossers - tremendous band out of Chicago, the best band I know for drinking music you might not actually know the words to
    • Flatfoot 56 - another tremendous Chicago band, but more punk than Celtic
    • The Real McKenzies - Celtic punk from Canada. Loud, rowdy, drunk, and old. These guys have seen everything and done everything
    • Kilmaine Saints - good friends of ours, they have put out a lot of great music over the years
    • Shilelagh Law - Just learning about them, and the more I hear the more I like
    • The Rumjacks - Australian punk band that would have taken over America by now if they weren't on the other side of the world
    • I would plug Hold Fast here, but our album is stuck in post-production purgatory. March is a busy month for a Celtic punk band!
    Traditional Folk Bands
    • The Dubliners - The godfathers of Irish folk music