1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Lakland 44/55-x

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by sigmafloyd, Jun 19, 2014.

1. sigmafloyd

sigmafloyd

May 1, 2011
    Hi All,

I'm trying to get the lay of the land about the Lakland 55-15 and the various related models. I've always been a Fender guy, so I'm new to both the MM sound as well as active basses in general. Couple questions:

1) What's the difference between the 55-94 and the 55-14?

2) I'm not a big slapper, but this thing looks like a slap machine. What kind of tones is it good/bad for?

3) I see almost no actual US 55-15s for sale, but a ton of Skyline 55-02s. Do they still make the US models?

Thanks!

2. sigmafloyd

sigmafloyd

May 1, 2011
    Forgot to ask. It says the 44-94 is the original. Is there a specific model that is now the flagship or 'Best of breed' of the bunch?

3. mark beem

mark beem Wait, how does this song start again?? Gold Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2001
    Alabama, USA
  4. Gougedeye

Gougedeye Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2008
    Central Washington