1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Lakland 55-02 passive mode too quiet

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Drienvyftigcent, Jan 28, 2021.

1. I've been using my 55-02 for quite a few years now, and mostly in active mode. However, I've come to prefer the sound of passive basses, and I like the way my lakland sounds in passive mode.
    The problem is that the volume decreases by about 50% in passive mode. I understand that active mode is supposed to be a little louder, but such a large difference doesn't seem right and forces me to make large adjustmens on all my levels. Does anyone know how I can make the passive mode louder?

Peter Torning likes this.
  2. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    Try raising your pickups or just turn up your amp. Does your bass have Bartolini or Lakland pickups? Bartolini are known to be “polite.”

3. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    I'm not sure about Lakland. But lots of active/passive basses have a trim pot on the circuit board of the preamp. Pop off the cavity cover and post a pic here. Some Lakland enthusiasts will be along to tell you if you have one.

What it does is "turn down the volume" of the active preamp so that you can match the volume of passive mode.

Searching through some old threads here, it seems that you may have one. It is circled in red in this pic.

LH3.jpg

4. Bob_Ross

Bob_Ross Gold Supporting Member

Dec 29, 2012