lakland 55-02 do you dial in the Stingray sound??

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by charlemagne, Sep 27, 2004.

1. charlemagne

Nov 5, 2003
    I've been playing the same old (wonderful) Stingray V since 1991...time for something new!! So I bought a used 55-02 deluxe. I really like the bass...but I kind of miss the Musicman sound. It just sounds ballsier, especially on the low end.

Can anyone give me advice on how to get a close-to-stingray tone? Is it even possible? I haven't messed with the midrange switch inside yet...the bass has the stock Bartolinis and I'm wondering if Seymour Duncans would help.

Any advice appreciated!
  2. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    I don't own a Lakland but I have fooled around with them enough in shops. I recommend that you turn all eq controls on full then dial back to a bit more than half on treble. That comes pretty close to a Stingray to me. Part of the problem is the Bartolinis. They simply don't have the output of stock MM pickups. I read on Lakland's website where Dan Lakin tested his basses and he found that Seymour Duncan Basslines are better at getting the true Stingray sound than Bartolinis.
  3. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

IME, it can't be done with the stock Bartolini setup. The first reason being that the bridge pickup isn't a MM style pickup at all. It is a twin Jazz pickup under a MM cover.

With the Duncan Basslines pickups and preamp, it can most definitely be done. I have played a 55-94(USA model) with the Duncans, and a 44-02 with them, and they both pretty much nailed the Stingray 4 tone. Even better than the Stingray 5 does.
  4. Fran Diaz

Fran Diaz

Mar 28, 2002
    Santander, Spain