Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Lakland preamp settings?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Vic, Dec 19, 2004.

1. Vic

Vic There's more music in the nuance than the notes. Gold Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Central Illinois
    Staff, Bass Gear Magazine
    Hey, I'm new to the Lakland preamp, have my first fiver coming next week.

Since the MM pickup is basically two in one with it's own pickup selector, I'd really like to know about favorite preamp settings.

Also, when not "blending" the MM pickup, are they single coils with hum, or does the other pickup humbuck for the one being used?

Also, what freq do you have the midpoint dipswitches set to?

Thanks in advance for all the tips from you Lakland vets out there!!

2. Vic

Oct 14, 2002
    Central Illinois
    I KNOW there's a bunch of Lakland users out there... surely there must be a few with some tips on squeezing the most tone out of these animals! :)

3. Tritone

Tritone Supporting Member

Jan 24, 2002
    Santee, America
    Welcome to the Lakland Club!

I'd like to help you with somesuggetions, but I need to know which model bass and which pickup system does it have? (single MM? 55-94 configuration? other?)

The dual MM pickup is pretty versatile by itself, and how you configure it really will determine the character of the sound you get from the bass. My mid dip is set at 500 hz. I haven't noticed any buzzing, mostly because I think each individual coil is a humbucker (I could be wrong though). My 55-94's are easily the most versatile basses I own, mostly because of the sonic options available from the MM pickup blended with the neck pickup.

4. Vic

Oct 14, 2002
    Central Illinois
    Thanks! I couldn't be more excited. Crazy, I've never touched one before... any model... buying on reputation, reading, and mp3 sounds alone. :)