Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

lakland rumor

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by JohnA, Feb 11, 2001.

1. JohnA

JohnA

Mar 21, 2000
    can anyone verify whether or not laklan is using veneers on their basses with the quilt tops?

twice in the last 2 days i've either heard or read it, so it's either becoming a popular rumor, or....

thanks for the help.

2. Tony Mig.

Tony Mig.

Jan 29, 2001
    As a woodworker, I understand some of the characteristics of wood and how they apply to musical instruments. In order to have a quilt top, the top has to be married to the main body of wood, this is done with a veneer. If Lakeland, or any other maker was to actually find a piece of quilt maple thick enough to use as the whole body, you wouldn't be able to afford the Bass, the cost would be incredible.
    This is the same proccess that has given us such world class instruments as the Gibson Les Paul, so don't consider veneers as a bad thing, because they are not always a sign of cheap construction.

just my 2 cents worth....

3. Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson Commercial User

Mar 8, 2000
    Gaithersburg, Md
    Boom Bass Cabinets, DR strings
    Sounds right to me. My 55-94 Limited has a quilt top only. IMO making a bass completely out of very nice "looking" quilted Maple is probably a waste of wood unless it's key in getting the sound the builder wants.

I have two Maple basses that are two solid pieces of figured Maple, a Clover Bass Tard 5 and a Zon Legacy Standard fretless 5. Initially I thought the wood on the Zon cood have been cut down and used on more than one bass but the design calls for Maple and it works extremely well. Here's a shot of the back of the Zon:

[​IMG]
    The grain looks like it actually rises and falls.

4. JohnA

JohnA

Mar 21, 2000