Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Laney Richter R5?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Tenchu, Jul 28, 2004.

1. Looking for a fairly cheap but powerful combo I came across the Laney R5, which seemed like a lot of watts for the money. I was wondering if anyone had any advice on Laneys and on the R5 in particular. Thanks.

2. I've been using one of the laney combos for the last 2 years...
    i personally would go for an ashdown combo of similar size and power if i was gonna get another combo. That's really only because of the sound tho... i prefer the ashdown sound!

I think that the sound is alright... you can do better but it's up to your ears! Recorded i haven't liked my amp i never manage to get a sound i enjoy to translate to the board!

My main problem has been the fact i'm underpowered but i'm playing with a noisey 4 piece and one of the less powerful amps! I find in general tho that these distort preaty easily!

Because I've had to push the amp 2 hard i've blown power transistors (or something blew neways) which has been annoying to get fixed! Also the tilt feture is nice at practice but it makes the amp heavier bigger and more annoying to transport!

these things are DAMN heavy! For the target you're going for a seperate head and cab would be more flexible and less of a pain to transport! Maybe try out an ashdown MAG... i'm biased because i love the sound of my new ashdown! My laney served me well it just struggled it was never really designed to keep up with me tho and i never purchased it expecting too!

3. Mike Money

Mike Money Banned

Mar 18, 2003
    Bakersfield California
    Avatar Speakers Endorsing Hooligan
    i played a laney once... I don't know with what bass, it was before i starte playing.. but i know i LOVED it. I think it was a 1x15 200w combo of sorts.

4. miccheck1516

miccheck1516 Guest

Feb 15, 2003
    Ireland