Laptop help -or- touchpad alternatives

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by superbassman2000, Jan 11, 2006.

1. hello crew,
    so i will be coming into some money soon and i found that as a college student, I really should get a laptop, because every cool college student has a laptop and who am i to ignore peer pressure?

anyways, i do actually have a laptop, and as a few people here on TB already know, its slow and prone to overheating...ok, so i fixed that, but it still shuts down every once in a while...
    anyways, a pet peeve of mine is the touchpad. whenever i type, i always accidently press down on the tochpad, which also acts in the same manner as a click (people with laptops know what i am talking about). So when i am typing, i will find out that i just typed that last paragraph inside of the paragraph before that.
    also, i just don't like it.
    anyways, i remember my grandma had a laptop once that had a little stick in between the G and H keys that could move the mouse. Does anybody remember what I am talking about? I am looking all around for that type of controller, but it seems that the touchpad has taken over!
    Does anybody know of any laptops that still have those little pieces or any kind of alternative to the touchpad? right now i have a usb trackball that i plug into my laptop, and that works just fine, but in my next one, i don't really want to carry any extra gear if i don't have to!

Thanks for the help!

2. Don W

Don W

Jan 30, 2004
    East Bay, CA.
    IBM/Lenovo laptops have both touchpads and that little red button. We use these at my company and I have found them to be reliable, well built computers.
  3. LajoieT

LajoieT I won't let your shadow be my shade...

Oct 7, 2003
    Western Massachusetts