1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Large Basses

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by jAcKyL8643, Feb 29, 2008.

1. Greetings fellow bass enthusiasts! I am a graduating high school bassist and I wanted to start a discussion about large string basses. I am a pretty tall guy at 6'6" and I have always been curious about 7/8 and full sized basses. Do these instruments have the superior tone that I've heard people comment about? I am curious because I currently use a REALLY long end pin just to get my 3/4 into playing position for me and I am defiantly physically capable of playing a much larger bass. I would appreciate examples of larger instruments and advice on purchasing and playing them!

Thanks for your insight, John

2. KSB - Ken Smith

KSB - Ken Smith Banned Commercial User

Mar 1, 2002
    Perkasie, PA USA
    Owner: Ken Smith Basses, Ltd.
    Larger Basses or longer string lengths as well?

I had an old German Bass come in the other day for evaluation. It was a big 7/8ths or modern 4/4 depending on who you ask. The string length was about 44".

I have bought several large Basses in the last 4 years with string lengths around 44" and in every case, they were shortened during restoration. One of them only got down to 42.5" or so as it didn't get a neck graft for cost savings and kept the original Eb neck.

Large bodied basses are fine if you can play them in tune. Modifying them down to 42" SL or less helps make it playable.