Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

laughter & health

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by bassed dude, Feb 2, 2004.

1. -this might result in a long post..need to vent-

I've seen this documentary on tv 'bout Patch Adams.. the real one not the movie.
    It got me thinking, as i'm a metal fan for ages.. can't remember what got me into it. It directed me to being 'down' and 'dark' 'depressive' .. you get the picture. I never really stood still by that fact. laughing and being just gay (happy) was a bit out of the question.
    Since i started playing bass and got to know TB i started to listen to other musical styles, blues, pop etc... and now 3 weeks ago my father died from cancer and complications with it.

I dont really know what caused it, but something 'clicked' in my head and although i still listen quite alot to metal (Cannibal Corpse, My Dying Bride, Type O Negative, Iron Maiden, Panterra, Motörhead etc) I feel like my view on life, and my state of mind changed. Now i find myself laughing alot and actually feeling better as if i've got more energy or something. Also i'm less stressed and i just don't take as many things from work to haert.

The documentary made me think 'bout it all and i guess it's true what they say. Laughing actually can heal/prevent you from getting ill. But (a question for metalheads out there) am i now in some way 'less metal', for being 'happy' and listening to a wider variety of music styles? Or am i just growing up/getting older?

Anyway, I'm glad to have vented in a way.. tnx for listening. errr.. reading that is

2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Even in the most heated arguments(with girls even!) if somehow a clever joke or pun slips in there and both parties give up to laughter, the argument is quickly resolved.

it's funny how things don't seem as dire after a good laugh sometimes.