Lava Cable Piston plug review (hint--I returned them)

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by bmax, May 19, 2016.

1. bmax

bmax

Feb 22, 2011
    Hey guys--

(Short back story) I spent the better part of my early twenties playing in a few different full-time bands, trying to "make it" or what have you, but stepped away from that to get married and have some kids over the past 4 years. I recently started playing (for fun) with some of my old crew and got the itch.

Fast forward to setting up a new pedalboard: I used to use George L's solderless when I built guitar pedalboards, but heard good things about Lava, and REALLY liked the look of their Piston solderless plug--SUPER low profile AND skinny, which I appreciate because I like to keep things pretty tight on my board.

I bought a set from Amazon, and spent an evening wiring it all up. Taking great care on each cable termination and checking with my meter for continuity after each cable. I got everything working and looking pretty darn sexy (I had bought their clear cable), plugged 'er in and made sure each pedal worked. Then I put the board away for the night.

The next day I went into the studio to record some tracks live with my old band, and lo' and behold... SILENCE. I started frantically pulling pedals off the board to check things. The whole band and producer are waiting on me to get set up. I'm sweating bullets. Finally I pull out the multimeter to check the individual connections again. Literally half of them (which I had just built and checked the night before) weren't passing signal. I had to bag half of my pedals and use the extra George L's I had in my bag--just barely enough.

I spent the day bummed/worried that I had spent $80 on cables that won't stay secure, but THANKFULLY Amazon took them back (cut up and still half-assembled) no questions asked. I ordered a set of GLS pancakes and some Mogami cable and soldered up about twice the amount of cables for half the price.