1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

SOLD Lawsuit Gibson Ripper/Grabber copy...check this out!!

Discussion in 'For Sale: Bass Guitars' started by MasterBass!, Jan 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MasterBass!

MasterBass! Reaching new Highs in Lows!! Supporting Member

Hi all....this is a Gibson Ripper / Grabber "Lawsuit Era" copy marketed under the Ventura name. My minimal research tells me that it was probably built at the famed Matsumoku plant in Japan in the early-mid 1970's...although I obviously can't quite confirm that the date is correct, nor can I confirm that its all original..but it looks pretty much so. Because I have zero background...this one is being sold as-is, for what it is. Ventura guitars actually seem to be in demand right now. The body has gorgeous grain, and the finish is still very nice.

Quick story: I bought this at a real estate auction. It was found after being stored under a bed in a case for many years, and not discovered until the homeowner moved the bed. She said it was her previous husband's guitar....who left her almost 30 years ago.