Lazy Maintenance Routine?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by malthumb, Apr 28, 2002.

1. This routine is wierd

2 vote(s)
  2. This routine is lazy

1 vote(s)
  3. This routine is wierd and lazy

0 vote(s)
  4. This routine is efficient

3 vote(s)
  5. Why on earth would you let a guitar player in your house

9 vote(s)
  1. malthumb

Mar 25, 2001
    The Motor City
    A friend who's a spare time guitarist, like I'm a spare time bassist, was over to the house while I was watching a game and doing some routine maintenance on my basses. He proclaimed my polishing process to be "lame, lazy, wierd, and just plain wrong". Using my six string as an example, you be the judge:

1) Loosen B, E, and A strings enough to remove them from the bridge, but leave on the tuning posts.

2) Polish the "bass" side of the bass.

3) Reattach the B, E, and A to the bridge.

4) Tune the A string relative to the D, then E to A and B to E.

5) Loosen D, G, and C strings enough to remove them from the bridge, but leave on the tuning posts.

6) Polish the "treble" side of the bass.

7) Reattach the D, G, and C to the bridge.

8) Tune the D string relative to the A, G to the D, and C to the G.

9) Polish the back.

He claims I should totally remove all strings, then polish, then restring and readjust my action. My response was something like " :p "

Whaddaya think?

2. Why remove your strings to polish your bass ? jou know.. strings can also move sideways..
  3. chucko58

Jan 17, 2002
    Silicon Valley, CA, USA
    I paid for all my gear myself. Well, me and MasterCard.
    You want lazy? Don't bother to polish your bass at all. :)

I will oil the fingerboard every other time I change strings or so. That works out to about every 9 months.

I don't worry about fingerprints under the strings on the body.