1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

lcd replacement question

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by TOOL460002, Sep 29, 2009.

1. hello- ive got a quick question regarding replacing the lcd screen on my laptop. will any brand work? ive got the chance to buy one on cl that is the same size- same resolution- and is also a tft lcd wxga. the only difference is that its a toshiba versus a dell (have dell laptop). does that matter at all? sorry if this is a dumb question, but ive only replaced the lcd inverter, so while ive cracked open the thing and get the gist of it, im no expert.

here are the specs of mine (dell inspiron 6000 [yes... very old...]):

• Manufacturer: Dell
    • Part #: Inspiron 6000
    • Size: 15.4"
    • Resolution: WXGA
    • Pixels: 1280 x 800

• Aspect Ratio: Wide screen
    • Surface: Both High-gloss and Matte finishes are available
    • Classification: Thin Film Transistor (TFT) Active Matrix Liquid Crystal Display (LCD) Technology

here are the specs of the one i can pick up for cheap:

I have a screen in a Toshiba Satellite A105-S2141

• 15.4” diagonal widescreen TruBrite™ TFT active-matrix LCD
    display at 1280x800 native resolution (WXGA)

thanks for anyone that can help me out with this. i asked my friend that knows a lot more than i do about this, and he says it depends whether or not itll be compatible, and i cant quite figure this out on my own or with his help. thanks again.

2. Nyarlathotep

Nyarlathotep Banned

Feb 5, 2006
    West Coast of Canada
    Woah.... I got nothing for advice, but if anyone can point me in the direction of how to replace a laptop display?

First I've heard of doing it!

3. Hi.

I've done several swaps (including iPods) and the only advice I can give is to find an exact match. Down to the last single digit if possible.