1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Learn some guitar or focus intensely on bass?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Sgroh87, Oct 31, 2013.

1. Sgroh87

Sgroh87

Dec 4, 2012
    DFW, Texas
    I'm 25 years old and I started playing guitar last december and switched to bass six months ago. I love playing bass and holding down the low end, and I'd really like to become good enough to play out with groups. I know that I'm starting a little late to look towards music as a career, but I don't think it has to be to have fun and earn a little bit on the side. I might also like to teach; I went to school for education so I have some

The thing is, every once in a while I get the urge to play some high register melodic or chordal parts, and even with a six string bass I still feel like I should be spending my time down low. I strung my backup bass with piccolo strings just for fun, but the scale length makes chording difficult. A few days ago a guitar teacher friend of mine told me that if I'm looking to gig, bass playing is where its at, but if I want to teach I should also have some solid guitar skills. I'm thinking about picking up guitar again on the side, but I don't want to "fall behind" on the bass.

As someone starting off a little later in life, do you think that I should spend some more time really focusing on the bass, or would it be okay (or even beneficial) to work on some guitar at the same time? I know that there's no real end goal for bass or guitar playing, but I fear that spending time on one to the detriment of the other will make it harder to reach my goal of competency playing in groups.

2. Play guitar, play mandolin, play trombone, keyboards. Get a pedal steel, then you'll really learn some chord structure.