1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Learn theory by reverse engineering your own songs?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by catcauphonic, Feb 16, 2018.

1. catcauphonic

catcauphonic High Freak of the Low Frequencies Supporting Member

Mar 30, 2012
    Seattle WA
    This thought had occurred to me today, and it's kind of aimed mostly at the folks who are self taught and in bands, or just play songs by ear.

When I first started the bass a few years ago, I assumed that to play an instrument one NEEDED to know how to read music. It didn't take long to find out that over half of all the players I talked to around town knew next to nothing about it. Most are better with their ear (at least rock players), and a few have no idea what notes they're even playing on the fretboard!!!

Well, in my case around the 1.5 year mark of home learning, I got in a band (where only one member knows any theory) and we normally just jam on somebody's riff idea that *poof* magically morphs into some great full fledged songs (with everybody coming up with their own part.)

Around then is when my study of theory pretty much ended, as i spend all my time now in a couple bands writing songs and trying to improve my ear (which seems way more useful to me at this stage.) Any notes I take to remember lines & structures are just shorthand on scratch sheets that pretty much only I can read.

I know my fretboard, & can slooowly read basic bass clef. Sharps, flats, 5ths, octaves, minor 3rds vs major (including 7ths + the other scale degrees) are perfectly clear as well. Whole notes vs dotted quarter... no problem. I understand how the 7 main western scales and the circle of 5ths came to be, and a little more, but that's where it ends.