learn to play with a metronome

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by herpes, Feb 3, 2006.

1. herpes

Jan 20, 2006
    Austria (tyrol)

i just started playing bass in september. now i have a problem. i have to learn playing with a metronome.

whats the fastest way to get it? (if there is one)
    or do i have to try try and try...
    - i just want to get a good bass player :D

2. I don't think there is an easy way to do it... Only practise can help you. First try to play one note for every beat, then two notes, then 3 and then 4. It's not easy, you have to spend a LOT of hours to reach this point so I hope you 're stubborn:smug: Then try replacing some notes with pauses in various positions. Hope I helped
  3. geshel

Oct 2, 2001
    Whenever you practice, use a metronome. Every scale, arpeggio, funk lick, whatever. Find the right tempo and go. Play behind the beat, ahead of it, on it, swing it, sixteenths, quarters, triplets whatever - but have that metronome on. It's your indispensible source of objective time.
  4. puff father

puff father

Jan 20, 2006
    Endicott, NY
    My problem with playing with metronomes is: metronomes seem steady til I start playing..., then they're all over the place! :)
  5. EmmSee

May 23, 2004
    Boston, MA
    You'll get it... take your time and just do quarter notes on the beat and try to make the beat disappear. You're really in time when you can't hear the metronome!

Keep practicing!
  6. Start really really slow. Set the metronome on 40 or even lower.

Play quarter notes at this speed until you get it locked in, then move to eighths.

Once you can do this, then think of the metronome as ticking on the 2 and 4. Count this out loud first, as it is a bit hard to get the count right the first time. Then start playing quarter notes with the metronome clicking on 2 and 4 - a little bit of that will really lock your time in.