Learning a song with tab

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by fisk, May 18, 2001.

1. fisk

Jan 3, 2001
    Indianapolis, IN
    I've been playing for about 6 months and I take lessons every week. My question is, how do I learn a song without having my instructor figure it out for me and write it down in tab? I have gone to the olgabass tab site, which is awesome and has almost every song ever written, but it gives very little useful info as to the notes to play. The most it has is a few bars of the main riff and chord changes.

At this point in my playing career, I dont have the ear to listen to a song and figure out ALL the notes. I'm not in a band yet, so its not a big deal. But, I have some friends who I get together with and i've learned a few songs that he has worked out for me. But when I finally do get to a band, i'll need to learn 30 or more songs to do a full gig. That will take forever for him to work out one or two songs a lesson.

For those of you who cant just listen to a song one time and play it, how do you learn the notes to a song? Is there a place to get sheet music for songs instead of tabs off the net?
    My instructor is a great guy, but I dont want to be dependent on him forever.

thanks for any help

2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

fisk - I don't want to say throwing money at it is the answer, but a headphone practice unit, like my Korg PX3B Pandora, lets you grab up to 16 seconds of a song, loops it back to you, and you can slowdown the speed of the playback in varying degrees, (and do key transposing, too).

You're right about the "ear" thing. It took me years. Sometimes I think it's a curse. I can't just sit down and play a lot of songs' bass lines dead-on, because I don't memorize lines much any longer unless they're in our current sets. It's too easy to put on the song and pick it up again. Plus, after this many years, the mental library is jammed. :rolleyes:
  3. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member