1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Learning bass from a monster player with wandering mind

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by dharma, May 6, 2006.

1. dharma

dharma Srubby wubbly

Oct 14, 2005
    Monroe, Louisiana
    So, I started taking lessons about 2 and a half months ago. Weekly, $30 (plus $8 gas).

The instructor is a monster, to say the least. Self-taught from his early teens (and I think this is where the problem lies, but we'll get into that in a minute.)

Now, I've spent upwards of $300 getting lessons from this cat, and I've walked away with a little bit more hand dexterity on my fretting hand and some handy charts of major/minor fingering patterns.

That's it.

I'm having a hard time learning from him, but he is absolutely the ONLY bass teacher within driving distance. As I said, he's self-taught, and while I enjoy watching his ability, I want to gain some from this, too.

He spends 3/4 of the hour I pay $30 for playing, "showing" me "all the things you can do" to use his own words, instead of actually drilling me, or teaching me the applications of things, teaching me songs, even. He trips over trying to teach me concepts orally, so I don't interrupt when he's playing through things in hopes of gleaning something watching his hands.

Every lesson, he tells me he has new things to go over with me and that he doesn't want to spend the entire time talking my ear off about theory I can't touch yet. Then he does exactly what he said he doesn't want to do.

I'm still putting together playing major/minor scales and chords, and at Thursday's lesson he spent the whole time talking about Stevie Wonder's bass lines. I can appreciate that, but I'd appreciate walking out of each lesson with more understanding of what I did that day and a goal for the next week more.