1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Learning method idea

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by cvictorh, Apr 18, 2009.

1. cvictorh

cvictorh

Feb 14, 2009
    Mid-Michigan
    I just started playing bass about two months ago and my problem is that I just don't seem to be playing enough. I currently am just learning tabs but I have recently ordered some music theory books. Do you guys think it would be a practical idea to learn technique primarily through improv with stuff I learn from the theory books? I would still play some tabs and want to try and dig out my trombone books if I still have them to work on sight reading but I just don't feel like I'm accomplishing much by just regurgitating songs others have written.

2. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    Cali Intergalactic Mind Space - always on the edge
    Song Surgeon slow downer software- full 4 hour demo
    You mean noodling? You could do it, but since you don't know what you don't know, how will you get to where you want to go?

How about finding a teacher?

Or check out the link in my sig. your some info that may help.

Good luck.

3. cvictorh

cvictorh

Feb 14, 2009
    Mid-Michigan