1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Learning More about playing Bass

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by spthomas, Sep 3, 2019.

1. spthomas

spthomas

Mar 25, 2014
    I'm not exactly new at playing bass, and I get by. But I don't know what I don't know and need some direction.

When I was in High School and college I was a drummer/percussionist. I did learn a bit of theory in college, but playing was drums, tymoani, the occasional xylophone. Then after I settled down a bit I started teaching myself guitar, and I do ok at that. A few years ago I started playing bass, and it clicked. The perfect synthesis of guitar and drums. My sweet spot.

So I get by, and I can play what I play. I even read, if slowly. So roots root-5th, some scales, I'm there. But I don't know if my technique is good or horrible. And I don't know how to go to the next level. Or even go back and learn what I know the right way.

What advice do you have for me?

Reedt2000 likes this.
  2. Reedt2000

Reedt2000 Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2017
    Central New Jersey
    It sounds like you've got a decent foundation to build from. There are a lot of resources out there like Scott's bass lessons. He's got a ton of free YouTube videos and a subscription that gives you access to a lot more. There are also books like Bunny Brunel's bass essentials published by Mel Bay. You might also want to find a good teacher and take some lessons. It really depends on what kind of time you have, what your goals and motivation are, and which format works best for your learning style.

FatStringer52 likes this.
  3. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    Are there people you can play with? Playing with a band, or something resembling a band, will do wonders for your playing.