1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Learning new styles and how to adapt

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by dkziemann, Mar 2, 2008.

1. dkziemann

dkziemann Supporting Member

Dec 13, 2007
    Rochester, NY
    Endorsed by D'Addario
    Hey everyone,

I'm not really new to bass guitar, I've been playing on and off for about 4 years, but my main instrument is upright bass. I'm almost 18, and have been taking lessons on upright for about 7 years (I also have a pretty strong footing in electric guitar too). Anyways, most of what I have been doing on upright is jazz, and basically the way I've been playing electric bass is taking the patterns I've learned on guitar and using what I know from upright bass and I've been able to do pretty well with that.

With my question- I just got a new teacher (but I figured I'd ask here). I'm playing bass in an acoustick rock band now, and I'm trying to figure out the best way to adapt to that style better. I've been playing jazz for about 7 years, so I know my walking bass line theory, harmony, I can feel sides of the beat and pulse (pretty well for my age) and I've transcribed a lot. I'm not sure what to do about bass guitar. We're recording in a month so I just planned on transcribing a bunch of DMB and James Jamerson type bass lines to get some creative inspiration, but I'm not sure if theres any other reccomended people to listen to, or any other approaches. Like I said, harmony is not a problem, it's just constructing bass lines on the electric. Any open advice, etc is muchly appreciated. PS- I know a month seems like a short time, but I'm really a hard worker and a quick learner, so it's not really a huge tackle for me. I planned on playing atleast an hour or two everyday to get ready.

Thanks!

Danny

2. nsmar4211

nsmar4211

Nov 11, 2007