1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Learning Scales

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by lilcrate, Oct 22, 2013.

1. lilcrate

lilcrate Tortdaddy

Sep 9, 2013
    St. Louis
    I'm pretty new to playing bass, and music in general. I have been learning some common scales. I stumbled upon this site.

http://www.musicopedia.com/scales/4-bass.php

I had no idea there were this many scales! How do I know which ones are pertinent? Surely not many people could know all of these scales right? The list is huge and many have "sub-scales".

2. Lownote38

Lownote38

Aug 8, 2013
    Nashville, TN
    They are all pertinent, and are used in different harmonic situations. That's a cool little app, but it's a lot to take in all at once. It made more sense for me to understand why certain scales are used over certain chords in specific scenarios. It also made more sense written out with notes rather than showing a bass neck with color coding like that. That momentarily had me perplexed (and I have a music degree!), so I understand how it looks like a lot to take in!

3. Fergie Fulton

Fergie Fulton

Nov 22, 2008
    Braintree
    Retrovibe Artist rota
    As a beginner you only need two types scales under your fingers, the major scale and the natural minor scale. Start there and understand them before moving on to other ideas. :)

4. That certainly covers a lot of ground!

5. Lownote38

Lownote38

Aug 8, 2013
    Nashville, TN
    I would recommend pentatonic (major and minor) first, and then the mixolydian mode (major scale starting on the 5th) so you can play blues based music.

6. Fergie Fulton

Fergie Fulton

Nov 22, 2008
    Braintree
    Retrovibe Artist rota