Learning Sheet Music

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Btrent, Mar 9, 2020.

1. Btrent

Btrent

Mar 9, 2020
    Good Afternoon!

I am new to learning the bass, I've never played another instrument and I am trying to learn how to play sheet music. What are some great resources/books I could use to learn? Not to interested in paying an arm and a leg for classes.

I have seen alot of books on music theory that look like they "may" cover sheet music but im not sure. Im a little lost and would appreciate the assistance. Thank you kindly.

2. Mushroo

Mushroo Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2007
    Massachusetts, USA
    Welcome to TalkBass!

I recommend to purchase a songbook of your favorite band's greatest hits, and follow along visually in the book, while you listen to a recording of the songs.

This is the same way I learned to read English: My parents read out loud to me, while I followed along visually with the written words on the page. Pretty soon, my brain was able to make the connection, between the written symbols and the corresponding sounds.

And an encouraging detail: There are 26 letters in the English alphabet, but only 12 notes the musical alphabet. So music is a lot easier to learn how to read, compared to English! :)

Notice I didn't mention anything about a bass. You don't need a bass guitar in your hands, to learn how to read & write music.

bholder likes this.
  3. Btrent

Btrent

Mar 9, 2020
    Thanks!! I will get to work on this. Very much appreciated!

4. Btrent

Btrent

Mar 9, 2020
    Thank you for the reply and suggestions.. I will try this :)

5. AFRO

AFRO

Aug 29, 2010
    Hit up your local Library and/or Community College (or Uni). My library has a great source of musical literature available for the great price of FREE! borrow for cpl weeks and re-check out if need be. There is also a video rental as well (not as vast, but something) so it covers a lot of potential territory.